• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Cheri

Cheri

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 March 2005 - 05:12 PM

I am brand new to Roots Magic and cannot seem to figure it out. I purchased the book when I got the program, too. I can't import data correctly, I can't merge duplicate individuals correctly, I can't save the file to a cd, let's just cut to the chase I can't do anything correctly. I am so frustrated I am ready to give up and bring out the sledge hammer to the computer and RM cd. Is there anyone out there who is willing to help me????? Please, please, please. RM comes highly recommended, but apparently not for my pea brain. I have been using a free one downloaded from myfamily.com and I really wanted a nice program to work with and I thought RM was the one. Thanks, Cheri.

#2 Alfred

Alfred

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5734 posts

Posted 20 March 2005 - 06:08 PM

When the program opens, there is a nearly blank gray screen.

in the toolbar, only a few tool are active, OPTIONS is one, multi colored geometric shapes, Click on that and then "FOLDERS"
There you set the folders to be the defaults.
I put RootsMagic in My Documents and then a backup, GEDCOM, reports and Printoust folder within that. (I already had a folder for my photos, so I just entered the root of those photo files.

Now, Go to the Files menu and select NEW and create a new database, give it a name ans select the options you wish to use. ( don't like surnames in all uppercase, for instance.) The database will be created in the folder you set as the top choice, "RootsMagic Files."

Press the I key to add the first individual, you could use the Add Menu item and choose individual.