Jump to content


c24m48

Member Since 06 Aug 2006
Offline Last Active Yesterday, 11:33 PM
****-

Topics I've Started

TreeShare 7.5.1 - Problem with Changed/Unchanged after Merge in RM

16 July 2017 - 08:28 AM

I disconnected my test RM database from ancestry, deleted the tree in ancestry, and deleted the test RM database that was connected to ancestry. I created a new, empty RM database and added one person by hand. The only data I entered was the person's name, the name of a real person about whom I have lots of real data. I synced the new RM database ancestry, creating a new ancestry tree with just the one person. So far, so good.

 

Next I dragged and dropped the same person from my production RM database  to my test RM database - just the one person, no relatives. I merged the two people together, keeping the original person I had entered by hand so the Record Number wouldn't change and hopefully would still match the same person in ancestry. Because the original person had no data other than the name, the merge was completely clean and the person now had all his relevant data without me having to type it all in again.

 

The newly merged person is not on the changed list, even though there were massive changes to his data. I can force him onto the changed list by making a dummy change, but the merge didn't do put him on the changed list.

 

Having forced him onto the change list, I synced between RM and ancestry. All seems well except that all my fact notes contain carriage returns. So the person is now unchanged but the data doesn't match between RM and ancestry. Removing the carriage returns from RM does make the data match between RM and ancestry, but the carriage returns are there for a reason and I can't really remove them in my production database. And the process of removing the carriage returns from the RM side of the house puts him back on the changed list even though he now matches between RM and ancestry.

 

Jerry


TreeShare 7.5.1 - Carriage Returns Still Lost in Fact Notes

16 July 2017 - 08:13 AM

The problem of lost carriage returns is not fixed in RM 7.5.1. I continue to wonder if this is a bug that needs to be fixed in RM, or if there is something in the API that prevents the carriage returns from being stored on the ancestry side of the house - remembering that RM's fact notes are being stored in ancestry's "citations without a source".

 

Jerry


TreeShare - All Media Files are uploaded, even if they are unused

03 July 2017 - 08:50 AM

In another thread, I described a small test database where I had deleted all the people and then added a new person. The deleted people all had media files, and the deleting the people from RM does not delete the media files from RM (correct behavior). The newly added person has no media files.

 

The test database spontaneously unlinked from ancestry. So I deleted the tree from ancestry and uploaded the test RM database to a new, empty tree in ancestry. All the media files were uploaded, even though they were unused. That seems a little strange, but I'm not sure if it ought to be considered to be a bug or not.

 

Jerry

 


TreeShare - syncing individuals who are already the same

01 July 2017 - 11:08 AM

In the TreeShare for Ancestry window, there are little boxes on the facts where it is offering the chance to sync the facts that are different. But the little boxes also appear sometimes for facts that are already the same. What is going on?

 

For example I have just uploaded a database from RM to ancestry, and a particular individual has not been changed on either side of the interface. The little boxes offering to sync exist for the 1830, 1840, and 1880 census but not for the 1850, 1860, and 1870 census. Why should this be? It is not just this one individual. The situation is common across my whole database.

 

Jerry

 


Pending, Confirmed, and Rejected Filter for ancestry.com WebHints

30 June 2017 - 10:19 AM

In RM's WebHints window for ancestry.com, is there a way to filter by the status of the hints - Pending, Confirmed, and Rejected? If so, I haven't yet found the option. If not, then the option is badly needed because I am getting very long lists of hints and normally I would like to see only the Pending hints. A really nice bonus would be if the filtering updated live as you updated the status of a hint without having to exit and re-enter the WebHints screen.
 
Jerry