Jump to content


apw6270

Member Since 15 May 2006
Offline Last Active Jun 04 2007 09:16 AM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Using RM on Multiple Machines

08 May 2007 - 05:52 PM

I use a Shared Folder and Synchronization (both built into Windows) to automatically synchronize Roots data (and other data such as emails, OE Address Book, IE Favourites, and certain documents etc) between a Laptop and Desktop.

No need for an external hard drive, a flash drive, zip file creation, manual file moving, or double saving. I just click on 'yes, synchronize' when prompted.

If anyone is interested, I'll explain how to do this. Be aware that it requires both computers to be networked (wired or wireless) and is semi-technical.

In Topic: Backup

07 February 2007 - 01:23 PM

kbens0n,

1) The bit about 'Ask only when changes have been made' refers to being asked about making a backup upon exiting the program, and NOT about confirming overwrite of an existing file.

2) <Alt-F>, K, <Enter>, <Enter>, Y only works if you have only one Roots database or you have all your backups in one folder. If, like me, you have many Roots databases, one for each separate unconnected person you are performing research for, and you have one folder for each database with subfolders for things like reports, multimedia, backups, research notes, etc etc etc, then you need to navigate to the appropriate place. <Alt-F>, K, <Enter>, <Enter>, Y on its own is therefore insufficient. This problem is compounded by the fact that the Folders option in Roots only allows absolute paths and not relative paths.

3) I'm not making a "big deal" of it. This forum is for Wish List's, and I wish that I was asked to backup only when necessary, and I wish I was asked to confirm overwrite just once. Millions of other apps do it, why has Roots got to be different?

GRRRRR. mad.gif

In Topic: Backup

07 February 2007 - 06:41 AM

QUOTE(Jim Belanger @ Feb 6 2007, 12:04 PM) View Post

Send me your data and I'll do the work for you!


What work?

In Topic: Backup

05 February 2007 - 01:38 PM

QUOTE(Jim Belanger @ Feb 2 2007, 01:07 AM) View Post

Go into options and change your settings so you won't be asked to backup any more.


Unfortunately this option gives one extreme or the other: Never ask even when changes have been made, or, always ask even when no changes have been made.

There is no sensible middle ground adopted by millions of other applications throughout the years: Ask only when changes have been made.

And there is no reason to twice confirm overwriting of an existing file.

In Topic: Propagate Census (Family) to children

01 February 2007 - 05:58 PM

QUOTE
In all actuality, "family" facts are really only for the "couple". So if one spouse is deceased, I wouldn't use the Census (Family) fact.


I'm not suggesting that a 'family' fact is created for the children and single parents. The software would create the appropriate fact types - 'family' for parents, 'individual' for single parent and each child, etc.