Jump to content


GlenB

Member Since 01 Feb 2008
Offline Last Active Yesterday, 03:22 PM
-----

Topics I've Started

Cleaning up FS data

15 October 2018 - 02:07 PM

This is mainly an SQLite question (TomH are you here?).

 

I had downloaded a lot of info from FS into RM. Then I developed a query to identify the ones that I did NOT need to keep and gave them all a particular colour coding. Then I used an SQLite query (Delete Many) that deleted every person with that colour coding and cleaned up all the unused fact types and places and sources etc etc etc (Delete Phantoms3). After all that, run all the database tools and RM is happy with the results, and it looks like what I was intending.

 

The SQLite script was developed before the FS integration and so it does not know how to cleanup the references in the tables that were added when FS integration was added. In particular, there are some entries in some table that indicates that a PersonID (which no longer exists) is matched to a particular FS ID. So I'm looking for a script that can clean up those references.  I'll go poke around in SQLite Spy and see if I can figure anything out but, if you know how to do this, please respond here!


Sometimes RM thinks there are no FS Sources

02 July 2018 - 05:34 PM

I have mentioned in other communications that FS Person Tools sometimes thinks there are no Sources when in fact there are some, maybe even many.

 

After every copy of one Source from FS to RM it seems to requery FS and regenerate the lists on both sides. That's mostly an annoying wait time and I can't think what potential problem that helps to avoid. As long as you're still working on the same person, I think we just hope that no one in FS is adding/deleting the sources for that person and the list originally queried remains. If someone were editing it, we might miss a Source (small error, low probability versus the amount of time wasted waiting for the requery). Suggestion: only requery FS if the RM user changed, added or deleted an FS source, otherwise work with the last list you retrieved from FS.

 

It has happened to me several times that the requery brings back zero results. If there were 22 before it didn't just gain or lose one or two, it got nothing. I wait, and wait, 15 or 30 or 60 seconds for the list to repopulate but nothing. It's exceedingly improbable that this is true and that something deleted all 22 Sources in the last few seconds. If I exit from Person Tools and go back to the RM Explorer and find that same person and click on the icon to start Person Tools from there it finds all 22 of them as expected and I can add the few I had not yet finished adding. Happens lots.

The second instance where I have seen this happen is not on a requery in the middle of moving sources from FS to RM - it is on the initial callup for a person I selected in the FS Person Tools from the list where RM tells me that FS has new information for some number of people. I was only able to prove this today (though long suspected) because some of the facts on a person were very specific and I wondered why there were no sources for them. So I jotted down the RINs, left Person Tools, went to RM Explorer, found those people and - lo and behold - there were sources, many sources, for these people. No idea why they didn't appear before. There were too many sources on several people for something in FS to have suddenly added them in the 10 seconds it took me to get back to that person and check again.

In this latter instance it happened for several people in a row, not all of whom were in the same family (so even less likely that some FS process or person was doing something to that same group at the same time). It is as though Person Tools gets "stuck" and no longer sees any Sources until I get out of it. If you can figure out what got stuck and fix that, then maybe an idea is to immediately requery anytime FS says no sources, or provide a button for the user to force a requery. That button might also be useful in the description above where I'm suggesting that you NOT automatically requery after every single copy of a source from FS to RM.


Make use of the History sidebar

02 July 2018 - 05:10 PM

On the left sidebar you can select to show the History. This appears to be a list of any person that you click on to select them from the Person Index, or in one of the views in the main part of the screen or through RootsMagic Explorer.

 

One other user interface place that should add to the History sidebar is the FamilySearch Person Tools where you are processing the list of people who have changes. Once you have processed a person, they disappear from the Person Tools sidebar and, unless you took notes, there is no way to go back and figure out who it was that you worked on a moment ago.

 

The reason this came up is that I figured out on person #4 that RM was no longer showing me the Sources associated with a person, but by then I had no way to go back and figure out which were persons #1, #2 and #3 who I should re-check.

 

I posted another topic here about the problem with Sources.


More complete use of History sidebar

02 July 2018 - 05:07 PM

On the left sidebar you can select to show the History. This appears to be a list of any person that you click on to select them from the Person Index, or in one of the views in the main part of the screen or through RootsMagic Explorer.

 

One other user interface place that should add to the History sidebar is the FamilySearch Person Tools where you are processing the list of people who have changes. Once you have processed a person, they disappear from the Person Tools sidebar and, unless you took notes, there is no way to go back and figure out who it was that you worked on a moment ago.

 

I will post this in the FamilySearch forum as well.


How Merging Places works

12 June 2018 - 02:41 PM

Wondering what is supposed to happen when I merge 2 places that each have additional place details.

 

If I have #1: Anytown, USA with a place detail of Protestant Church

And also #2: Anitoun, USA with a place detail of Fred's House

When I merge #2 into #1, I think I end up with Anytown, USA which has both of the 2 different place details in it.

 

That's OK, good even, but what about the events that had previously used those places and place details?

 

The event that previously happened at Anitoun, USA details Fred's House .... should it now be Anytown, USA details Fred's House?

 

I'm asking because I'm not sure it has done that correctly for me and I'm wondering if it is my testing or a bug or misunderstand functionality.