6 replies to this topic

#1 isis

isis

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 22 May 2010 - 01:32 PM

Heres my experience with Rootsmagic, which is an excellent concept

I've been researching all of my family names for over 6 years & I've created a main gedcom of approx 1, 700, 000 people. This presents a no of difficulties ie whether I use my RM3 or RM4 there are constant crashing & or extreme slowness when merging problems. The gedcom is v large as it contains a 2 x language versions of the Adam & Eve database from different sources with different family trees added. Ive managed to merge most of my lines with the main adam & eve family lines so its impractical to split families off into separate databases, especially as some families regularly intermarry with cousins further back, especially in royal trees

Both programmes are functionally on my windows vista pc & all parts work except, now exporting gedcoms as the programmes both crash when I try to export the whole gedcom onto another pc.

RM4 is still unusable despite upgrading to the latest version & getting a new business vista pc, which is faster, because when I try to merge 2 people it takes 30 mins to go to the person I wish to merge to , even if they are the next person on the sidebar list, which is too slow.

Ive now got a mac running snow leopard, Ive tried to run RM4 & RM3 using crossover. They both install, & I've used my pc RM backup files & then the Database files to try & get them to access my pc generated RM database. Both programmes installed ok & run on my mac. But, even though the full database of people opens on the windows ,mac emulator, both RM3 & RM4 crash when I try to merge 2 people. So all I can do is look at the people stored in it

On windows when I couldnt use RM4 when it was to slow, I went back to using RM3 which is much faster & goes to the manual merge of 2 people in secs, however, it crashes after say 15 merges. So I have to keep restarting.