Family Origins 4.1a

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Rebecca_*

Guest_Rebecca_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 August 2004 - 10:30 PM

I am not an expert on computer/software technology. I use software and go to others to for help or to fix it..... so here is my question.
I have used Family Origins version 4.1a for many years. I decided it would be good to upgrade the program only to find out it has been discontinued. I have no idea if the upgrades on later versions made any significant improvements from my version. If so which version was the best? or would it be better to switch totally to Roots Magics. or should I stay with what I have?
Please advise

#2 diamondk

diamondk

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 05 August 2004 - 06:54 AM

Having used various versions of Family Origins and now RootsMagic, I would say upgrading to RootsMagic is definately the way to go. Family Origins is no longer available and RootsMagic is so much better, it is well worth the ugrade.

#3 kbens0n

kbens0n

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3464 posts

Posted 05 August 2004 - 01:59 PM

You can see the program in action by downloading the demo:

http://www.rootsmagic.com/demo.htm

It's about 10MB in size, so it will take a ~bit~ longer with dial-up (56k) users.

---
--- "GENEALOGY, n. An account of one's descent from an ancestor who did not particularly care to trace his own." - Ambrose Bierce
--- "The trouble ain't what people don't know, it's what they know that ain't so." - Josh Billings
---Ô¿Ô---
K e V i N

#4 Guest_Rebecca_*

Guest_Rebecca_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 August 2004 - 10:15 PM

Thank YOU to diamondk and kbensOn