7 replies to this topic

#1 treez2

treez2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 February 2009 - 08:40 PM

OK - I have "I'm new to RootsMagic - itis."

Somehow, I have managed to generate repeats of many names in a database. There are maybe two or three copies of the same person - maybe more.

First, how do I display a list of all names in a database?

Second, how do I edit out the extra names? I have discovered the long way to edit out the multiples, but there has to be an easier way.

This has to be easy........

IDEA - why not come up with a message board for we RM beginners so those who are advanced won't have to put up with sorting through all the messages from those of us who need answers to the basics?

Thanks.....

#2 Alfred

Alfred

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5734 posts

Posted 19 February 2009 - 10:11 PM

QUOTE(treez2 @ Feb 19 2009, 08:40 PM) View Post

First, how do I display a list of all names in a database?

[Ctrl]+[f] OR The Search tool-bar icon OR Search menu then Person list
For a report: Reports => Lists => Individual List --- Everyone (choose as many or as few options as you want)

Second, how do I edit out the extra names? I have discovered the long way to edit out the multiples, but there has to be an easier way.

This has to be easy........

Tools => Merge --- auto merge (will get some of them)
Tools => Merge --- Duplicate search/merge (lets you pick a few more to combine)

UNLESS, you just have the same person linked in more than one place, in that case they will have the same record number and you will have to UNLINK them from the place they do not belong.
((Tools => Options => Database Options --- Bottom field, Show record number on main screen

IDEA - why not come up with a message board for we RM beginners so those who are advanced won't have to put up with sorting through all the messages from those of us who need answers to the basics?

Thanks.....