13 replies to this topic

#1 Beth Savage

Beth Savage

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 December 2019 - 08:32 PM

Hi,

I'm new to RootsMagic and I'm still trying to figure out how some aspects work. In my current situation, I have a yearbook photo that I have entered as Yearbook under Source. I connected it to an Education fact since it supports the person being at that school in that year. But now I'm confused.

I have 2 yearbooks from different years, so that's two Education facts with years they are connected to.

I also have an Education "High School" fact that covers all four years. No Source for that since the Yearbooks only cover 2 years.

Finally, I have a Residence fact from that year which I think I could also use the Yearbook to prove.

My questions are:

1. How should I organize this? Put the Yearbooks under the "High School" Education instead of having three facts? That seems clearer, but I'm afraid that I'll forget I have the pics 6 months down the road. Or should each fact have its own line? For example, I have a lot of little pieces of information from Census that I want to include.

2. Is there a way to link two facts for a person to one Source? I saw where I can link one Source to two different people, but not the former. I was thinking about linking both Residence (during high school) and Education High School to the Yearbooks, but I couldn't find a way to do it. I guess I could copy it, but that's not very effective.

I read the manual and looked around the forum and other sites, but couldn't find anything. Thanks for any suggestions

Beth

#2 Jerry Bryan

Jerry Bryan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3825 posts

Posted 30 December 2019 - 11:13 PM

You can add a citation for one fact, memorize the citation, and paste the same citation to a second fact. Well, the second citation is really a copy of the first citation, not the "same" citation.

Jerry

#3 Beth Savage

Beth Savage

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts