Jump to content


Photo

Restore has Brought up Earlier Version of Tree

Restore Backup RM7 Rootsmagic 7

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 obsidianknighthawk

obsidianknighthawk

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 September 2019 - 06:32 AM

I restored my tree and found that it was of a much earlier version than I had backedup to and I consequently lost 2 days of dedicated family tree maintenance. My Backup was done 5 mins prior to restore today and that backup when restored brought me to tree progress point approx 2 days ago.

 

Anybody know what could have caused this? I only had the one backup file and the backup process completed successfully by all indications on 4 occassions. None of these backups reflected in the restore.

 

Best wishes

Mike

 

 



#2 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

    Advanced Member

  • Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 8474 posts

Posted 26 September 2019 - 07:51 AM

The backup would be an exact copy of the database when created. Where was you backup stored?  Was it inside of any folder syncing to the cloud? That wouldn't necessarily be an issue with a backup. But if you're in the habit of overwriting earlier backups then the cloud storage could have reverted it back. By default you should have a date stamp on the backup so it's not doing that. The option is under Tools>Program Options>General - Add date to backup file name.


Renee
RootsMagic