Photo

Using a named group to create a new file?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 emkaysmith

emkaysmith

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 September 2019 - 01:29 PM

I've been an advanced user of TMG since the '90s (since the DOS version, actually), but I'm still pretty new to RootsMagic. I imported a large dataset direct from TMG, and it was handled just fine -- and much cleaner than if I had GEDCOMed it. But there's a chunk of that new RM file that I would now like to calve off into a second, separate file.

I know I can drag-and-drop individuals into a new file, and I apparently also have the option to select persons from the picklist -- but it's a VERY LONG list. I've created a named group of the several thousand persons I want to transfer, using "ancestor of" and "family of" and all that. But I don't see any way to-drag-and-drop that whole named group.

Seems like it should be an obvious thing to be able to do, and not essentially any different from selecting persons from the picklist, but using the existing named group would be a whole lot more efficient. Am I just overlooking something?

Thanks!

Mike

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6215 posts

Posted 09 September 2019 - 02:28 PM

While you cannot drag'n'drop a named group (which is a perfectly reasonable thing to do), you can export it to GEDCOM and then import it into a new database. The irony is that drag'n'drop is a background export/import via GEDCOM.

Read this to understand what you might lose in the process: https://sqlitetoolsf...ransfer-losses/

Tom user of RM7550 FTM2017 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com
SQLite_Tools_For_Roots_Magic_in_PR_Celti wiki, exploiting the database in special ways >>> RMtrix-tiny.png app, a bundle of RootsMagic utilities.

#3 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 8414 posts

Posted 09 September 2019 - 03:56 PM