7 replies to this topic

#1 tmduffy52

tmduffy52

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 15 August 2019 - 04:31 PM

How are RM users capturing and recording Find A Grave ID#s? Are you just adding the # as a Fact?

#2 Jerry Bryan

Jerry Bryan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3524 posts

Posted 15 August 2019 - 04:40 PM

I don't record Find A Grave ID's, per se. I use Find A Grave as a source. The Find A Grave ID only shows up in my RM database in the sense that my sources that come from Find A Grave are tagged with a screen capture image of the Find A Grave screen for the person. The ID is visible in the screen capture image, but I don't specifically store it in any other place in RM.

Jerry

#3 tmduffy52

tmduffy52

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 15 August 2019 - 04:45 PM

Thanks Jerry

#4 zhangrau

zhangrau

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1504 posts

Posted 15 August 2019 - 05:39 PM

I have a Master Source for Find A Grave, and copy the essential text (minus all the ads) into the citation's Research Notes. That includes scrolling down the Find A Grave page to grab the contributor info.

That way, all of that info can be included in the End Notes of my Publisher reports.

#5 Jim Byram

Jim Byram

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts

Posted 15 August 2019 - 07:08 PM

I have a Find A Grave master source and add the ID to the citation detail for each fact (Burial, etc.) linked to the source.

Citation Detail example...

Find A Grave Memorial# nnnnnnnnn

#6 reborrell

reborrell

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts

Posted 30 August 2019 - 09:22 AM

I set up a FindAGrave.com fact type. I then copy the full URL into the description field. I do the same thing for several other genealogy websites.