4 replies to this topic

#1 Calharkins

Calharkins

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 June 2019 - 03:19 PM

Hello,

I am new to RootsMagic.  I am trying to do a narative report and am having problem with the default sentencing on census reports.  I want to strip the heading of the variable so the senence makes sense. I bolded and underlined some of the problems.   Help would be greatly appreciated.

He lived Marital Status: Married; Relation to Head of House: Head in Sabine, Louisiana, USA in 1910.3,6 He lived Relation to Head: Head; Residence Marital Status: Married in Police Jury Ward 9, Sabine, Louisiana, USA in 1920.7 George lived Marital Status: Married; Relation to Head: Head in Police Jury Ward 9, Sabine, Louisiana, USA in 1930.5 He lived in Sh, Sabine, Louisiana in 1935.8 He lived Marital Status: Married; Relation to Head: Head in Ward 9 Police Jury, Sabine, Louisiana, USA in 1940.8

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6284 posts

Posted 09 June 2019 - 08:58 PM

All of those headings are in the Description field for the event. The only way to get rid of them using RM is to edit each event.

Tom user of RM7550 FTM2017 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com
SQLite_Tools_For_Roots_Magic_in_PR_Celti wiki, exploiting the database in special ways >>> RMtrix-tiny.png app, a bundle of RootsMagic utilities.

#3 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6284 posts

Posted 09 June 2019 - 09:05 PM

An alternative approach would be to customise the default sentence to work better with the content of the Description field. This looks like a Residence fact type created by Ancestry from a Census. If all your Residence facts are like that, then a default sentence along the lines of:
The 1940 Census reported...

Tom user of RM7550 FTM2017 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com
SQLite_Tools_For_Roots_Magic_in_PR_Celti wiki, exploiting the database in special ways >>> RMtrix-tiny.png app, a bundle of RootsMagic utilities.