• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 tonyt071

tonyt071

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 May 2019 - 10:25 AM

Hi All, I am new to RM, have a 4000 person tree in ancestry. Used TreeShare to link RM with ancestry so I understand the trees are in initial alignment

If i update ancestry then I can further sync to RM - seems logical

If I update RM (because I have lots of duplicates in ancestry) then I am not certain how i can then sync to ancestry - save RM tree and export GEDCOM and then import as another tree in ancestry (with all media etc)

Should I just update either RM or ancestry or is my logic incorrect please?

Last question if I may is there a tool or report in RM which tests the consistency of a tree IE person by person across each generation? (to highlight missing people / links)

Many thanks for your support Tony

#2 Jerry Bryan

Jerry Bryan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3568 posts

Posted 14 May 2019 - 12:00 PM

After the initial download from ancestry to RM, TreeShare does not provide a true sync. Rather, it's a "share" where you have to approve the copying of each piece of changed data from ancestry to RM on a case by case basis. Some users like this approach. Some users find it too cumbersome.

If instead of further changes to ancestry you make further changes to RM then the "sharing" process is the same. Run TreeShare in RM. It will identify changes made to either system and you can (or must, because it's not automatic) approve the copying of the changed data from RM to ancestry on a case by case basis just like you can approve the copying of changed data from ancestry to RM on a case by case basis.

Jerry

#3 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 8452 posts

Posted 14 May 2019 - 12:24 PM

RootsMagic's TreeShare for Ancestry

Renee
RootsMagic

#4 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6251 posts

Posted 14 May 2019 - 03:05 PM