#1 bdunn

bdunn

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 27 December 2018 - 03:19 PM

Hi everyone,

I am a bit new to RootsMagic and I have tried virtually everything else. I find RootsMagic to be far and away the best tool on the market today. It's not best at everything, but it's best at the core functions as far as I can determine.

I'm curious if anyone has tried to store the RM database on a Google Drive or a Google Team Folder. I already have my backups, reports, GEDCOM, and media all on my Google Drive and all that works fine. It would be nice to be able to keep the database there as well as I often switch from my desktop PC to my MacBook (running RM via Parallels 14) and it would be fantastic if I can open one or the other (only one at a time) and just access the database from the common point on both systems.

I know this can be done with Gramps as of version five and I believe RootsMagic is also using sqlite with DB-API, so I'm curious to know if anyone has tried the same with RM or not. And if so, what was the success or failure of doing that?

Thanks!

#2 KFN

KFN

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 213 posts

Posted 27 December 2018 - 03:55 PM

See if this recent entry gives you some insight.

http://forums.rootsm...of-media-files/

#3 bdunn

bdunn

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 27 December 2018 - 04:07 PM

Thanks. I di

See if this recent entry gives you some insight.

http://forums.rootsm...of-media-files/

Thanks KFN. I didn't see this discussion. I am really asking more about the storage of the RM database itself. Keeping the other files like media, reports, etc. is already working fine for me. :-)

But that discussion did help and gave me a possibly better idea of what to do with the media, so thanks.

#4 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6268 posts

Posted 27 December 2018 - 04:20 PM