• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 gac3rd

gac3rd

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 December 2018 - 01:41 PM

Complete newbie. Trying to do a narrative descendants report by using the suggestions in Jerry Bryan's excellent post.

http://forums.rootsm...ge-2#entry92079

Would like the facts to appear in chronological order, rather than some facts (ie marriage) appearing after the death of the person. I gather this is because  family facts appear after personal facts in RM reports.

http://forums.rootsmagic.com/index.php?/topic/13385-timeline-out-of-order/?hl=%2Bnarrative+%2Breport+%2Bevent+%2Border#entry62485 

In Jerry's example report, events seem to appear in chronological order.

Is there a magic work around within RM7 to make this happen? One possibility is to use, say,  MS Word to rearrange after the fact. But of course it would be much nicer to have an option to sort in chronological order, ignoring personal and family.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

#2 Jerry Bryan

Jerry Bryan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3369 posts

Posted 19 December 2018 - 06:21 PM

The manual workaround is to share family facts (AKA spouse facts) such as marriage and divorce with the principals to the fact. This causes such facts to appear twice in descendant narrative reports - once in the list of family facts and again in timeline order for each principal.

I tend not to use RM's shared fact facility very much because RM's shared facts are likely to be lost if your RM data is exported to any other genealogy software. But in this case, even if the shared version of a marriage fact is lost upon RM export, the family/spouse version of the marriage fact will be retained just fine. So all that's lost by exporting RM data in this use of shared facts is report formatting.

Jerry

#3 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6131 posts

Posted 19 December 2018 - 06:48 PM