8 replies to this topic

#1 ThirtyOhSix

ThirtyOhSix

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 December 2018 - 10:48 AM

Hi,

In short, I want to know if RM template based sourcing is flexible enough to allow me to basically duplicate the sources as described in the book Evidence Explained.

I am new to Roots Magic, but I have been studying genealogy since 1999.  I have been using FTM and ancestry since starting on this journey.  This spring I encountered a bug which stopped my ability to sync with ancestry.com, so I started to explore other software.  I have tried MacFamily Tree, FTM, Legacy and even Gramps.  More importantly, I want to address my family tree's sources and make them meet best standards as defined in Evidence Explained.

So as an example from page 430 of Evidence Explained, for a Death Certificate from Kentucky.

Ancestry describes this sources as:

Source Citation

Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives; Frankfort, Kentucky

Source Information

Ancestry.com. Kentucky, Death Records, 1852-1965 [database on-line]. Lehi, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2007.

Original data:

1. Kentucky. Kentucky Birth, Marriage and Death Records – Microfilm (1852-1910). Microfilm rolls #994027-994058. Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives, Frankfort, Kentucky.
  2. Kentucky. Birth and Death Records: Covington, Lexington, Louisville, and Newport – Microfilm (before 1911). Microfilm rolls #7007125-7007131, 7011804-7011813, 7012974-7013570, 7015456-7015462. Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives, Frankfort, Kentucky.
  3. Kentucky. Vital Statistics Original Death Certificates – Microfilm (1911-1964). Microfilm rolls #7016130-7041803. Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives, Frankfort, Kentucky.

The actual Death Certificate can be seen here

Evidence Explained provides the following template for State-Level Records, Vital-Records Certificate.  Since I have the certificate in hand, I can site the actual source.

Source List Entry: