5 replies to this topic

#1 reedkickball

reedkickball

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 June 2018 - 09:33 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Rootmagic, I've used pretty complicated pieces of software before, like "Ultimate Family Tree" and "Master Genealogist".  Both have been discontinued.  So I've decided to use Rootsmagic, hoping that it is more mainstream, and less likely to get discontinued.  

One issue that I have with Rootsmagic is with the Gazetteer.  I like the ability to "quick pick" a location, however the locations that I pick aren't in the local language, or in English.  So the picklist isn't helpful for a lot of the places that I search.  I also only reference places by their historical name, not their current name.  So again, the Gazetteer doesn't help  

So, I would like to be able to add my own locations into the Gazetteer.  I don't care about the "places list", because the data in the "places list" isn't offered as an option when you click on the search button in the Place field.  Maybe I'm doing something wrong?

#2 zhangrau

zhangrau

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1292 posts

Posted 10 June 2018 - 11:58 PM

Go to an Edit Person window, and select any fact/event.

Now look in the right-hand pane, second line from the top.

There are two icons:

- click on the magnifying glass to go to the Gazetteer

- click on the blue & green world to go to the Place List

Unlike your comment above, I very much prefer the Place List to the Gazetteer or County Check, because I find the so-called standardized method of leaving out key terms such as "county" or "parish" to be confusing. 

But that's personal choice, and one of the strengths of RootsMagic is that there are many elements of the program that allow flexibility for different users' habits.

#3 Vyger

Vyger

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3053 posts

Posted 11 June 2018 - 04:38 AM

There are two icons:

- click on the magnifying glass to go to the Gazetteer