• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rlmobley

rlmobley

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 May 2018 - 09:48 AM

I have details in my RootsMagic ver 7 that I would like to transfer to FamilySearch. For instance, in the Residence for 1900 I put the township in the details area, and the county, state, country in the place. When I click on the square on RM, the Fact Details window opens up and shows Residence, Date, Place all filled in, but the Detail is blank.

Suggestions?

Rick

#2 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 7659 posts

Posted 14 May 2018 - 04:06 PM

FamilySearch doesn't have a Place Detail field and they really don't want them in the Place field. I add them to the reason field.

Renee
RootsMagic

#3 rlmobley

rlmobley

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 May 2018 - 05:05 PM

I must admit that I am new to RW and FamilySearch so tell me why I see a "Detail:" when I click on the blue "I" on the right hand side of RW, which pops up with Family Search Fact Details?

RW suggests I put city, county, state, country on the Place box and put specific details, like cemetery, township, etc. in the Details box. But what I'm seeing on FamilySearch is that more often, they put it all in the "Place" field.

I guess I expected RW would add the Details in front of Place like it shows in several boxes in RW.

I've done lots of research but am new with RW, having used Reunion, Brothers Keeper, FTW and a few others over the years.

Thank you for your comments, I do appreciate discussions and look forward to participating in the forums.

Rick

#4 Jerry Bryan

Jerry Bryan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2907 posts

Posted 14 May 2018 - 07:34 PM

But what I'm seeing on FamilySearch is that more often, they put it all in the "Place" field.