7 replies to this topic

#1 NEreswearcher

NEreswearcher

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 18 February 2018 - 12:57 PM

This may not be a topic for this forum and if so we can  move or delete it.

I have been wrestling with long term preservation of my genealogical data. I have been working with genealogy since the mid 1980's. Started with Word, Went to Brothers Keeper in early 1990's and about 1995 moved to The Master Genealogist until late 2014 when it went defunct and I switched to Rootsmagic. Every conversion cost me dearly which made me concerned what would happen when I stop this and could someone else pick up the work at a later time. I have no solutions at this time but I have considered the following:

1. Provide backups to Rootsmagic SQLite database both onsite and offsite.
    1. Good short term solution but if this lies dormant for 20 years who will be able to read that database.
  2. Provide GEDCOM file. (I assume Rootsmagic may go away in the next 20+ years)
    1. The current GEDCOM output from Rootsmagic conforms to the standard but the output is not fully supported by any other software package and on import to something other than Rootsmagic, data is lost.
    2. GEDCOM X may provide a solution if:
      1. The GEDCOM X standard is completed and if it will back up everything.
      2. If Rootsmagic implements the GEDCOM X standard and other programs support the GEDCOM X standard as Rootsmagic has implemented it.
  3. Conclusion: At this time no physical backup will provide recoverability in the long term.
  4.  Print all my data that can be scanned in in future if data is not readable
    1. Print an individual summary and select everyone in a database.
      1. No other option can get everyone without a lot of duplication.
      2. Would require a large effort to reconstitute database.
    2. Print Narrative reports
      1. Ancestor reports would miss many people in my database.