Photo

Uncheck the Living box to show more details?

Privacy Living website

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MikeHal

MikeHal

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 February 2018 - 03:31 AM

Hello, I'm new to RM. I've searched the forums for help on this question. Some threads come very close to giving the answer but they tend to be a bit complicated for this beginner.

I think I understand the privacy issue fairly well. I currently have my self-hosted, RM7 produced website showing no more than "Full Name" of living individuals, which is my chosen configuration until someone complains.

Some living members of my family, including myself, want to show photos and other information about ourselves.

To do this, is it possible to un-check the "Living" check-box associated with those individuals who wish to be more fully described, before outputting the website files from RM7?

Regards,

Mike Halmarack

#2 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 7659 posts

Posted 05 February 2018 - 02:11 PM

If you uncheck the Living flag they will be treated as deceased so the privacy settings won't apply to them. 

Renee
RootsMagic

#3 MikeHal

MikeHal

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 February 2018 - 02:53 AM

Thanks so much Renee,

a very clear if somewhat disturbingly phrased reply.

The way you express it makes me want to seek an alternative, even if more complicated solution.

Though there may not be one.

I'll use this simple switch but keep studying the subject in the hope of finding a more subtle method.

Regards,

Mike Halmarack

#4 Don Newcomb

Don Newcomb

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 987 posts

Posted 06 February 2018 - 07:14 AM