• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Raydar

Raydar

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 January 2018 - 12:51 PM

Hi, I'm a total noob here but have been infected with the genealogy bug and just started to use Roots Magic 7.  I am sure this is being done elsewhere but my searchs of tesi forum resulted in nothing.  I have purchased the full version of Roots Magic and would like to work on it from multiple computers on my home network without backing up on one computer to my drop box then restoring it to the other computer when I want to work on the same database at a different computer.  I understand that Roots Magic 7 to Go would be an option but was wondering if anyone else is doing something similar to what I am trying to do.   This also brings up the question is can I have a data base that is available to other members of my family located in others parts of the US so we can work on it together?

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong area but I really appreciate any help someone can give me.  Thanks in Advance!

#2 zhangrau

zhangrau

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1292 posts

Posted 12 January 2018 - 04:02 PM

RM is not designed to allow simultaneous access by two or more computers to the same database. But there should be no problem with two computers separately (that is, never simultaneously) accessing the same database.

If you've read some of the prior discussions about using an RM database in the cloud (Dropbox, OneDrive, etc.) then you hopefully understand that a key concern is the latency in constantly saving RM data via the internet. Even small time delays can be problematic, and have been suspected in corrupting an RM database.

If you are tech savvy, and set up a home network with a shared drive & folder where your RM database (and associated multimedia files) reside, and if your home network is speedy, then your goal may be achievable.

#3 John_of_Ross_County

John_of_Ross_County

Advanced Member

• Members