• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 NEreswearcher

NEreswearcher

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 January 2018 - 01:46 PM

I have been using Rootsmagic version 7 for about 3 years. I converted from The Master Genealogist. It was a large cleanup project since many many functions in TMG are not supported in any other product including RM7.

Now I am running into a problem that I don’t know how or cannot put the data into RM7 cleanly.

A fact allows for a date, place, place details, description, sort date, and current status of proof. That is all I can put into a fact or event. The real problem comes with the description field where RM7 severely limits the amount of data for a fact. If I have more than the 100 or so characters in the description field I am out of luck. Some people have suggested putting the additional data into the notes field which accommodates about 65,000 characters.

Nice try but all the data in the notes field is printed in reports outside of the footnotes so that the additional data is essentially unsourced. Another massive editing effort to move the data inside the footnotes field.

Putting actual event or fact data in the notes complicates using that field for anything else like proof statements or additional comments about the fact that I may or may not want printed. Printing notes is all or nothing. I have been using Personal Historian version 2 and this really complicates moving data from RM7 to PH2. PH3 may solve some issues.

Does anyone have a good solution for this?

Rootsmagic V7 is over 3 years old. Is there a new version on the way and will it address this problem?

A good solution would be to enhance the description field to work like the notes field thus including all the pertinent data within the footnotes.

#2 kbens0n

kbens0n

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3306 posts

Posted 04 January 2018 - 04:24 PM