11 replies to this topic

#1 RobertL

RobertL

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 23 December 2017 - 10:45 AM

I am running RM7 on a mac with parallels, although I have the mac version installed as well.  I recently purchased a copy of RM7 for my daughter as a gift.

Given that our computer systems, and therefore our data paths will be different, what is the best (or easiest) way to transfer my data and media to her computer and have everything locatable on her end?

Thanks.

#2 John_of_Ross_County

John_of_Ross_County

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 612 posts

Posted 23 December 2017 - 01:38 PM

To: RobertL

From my  Windows system to sibling's Windows systems, I have just e-mailed my most recent backup file to them.  I have so few media files that I do not bother with those photos.

So far, this procedure has worked for them.  I have no experience with the mac version.

#3 zhangrau

zhangrau

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1352 posts

Posted 23 December 2017 - 05:52 PM

The Windows and Mac versions of RM are identical - same format, same data, etc. - and can be freely exchanged.

If, like me and other RM users, you store your RM images in categorized sub-folders, then you probably don't want to use RM backup including media. That's because the RM backup with media process lumps all of your media into a single folder (and stores no info at all about the former sub-folder structure).

If, like me and other RM users, you have many media files, then the RM backup with media will be much larger than an RM backup WITHOUT media. Of course, the links will be in the backup without media, just not the images.

My media collection has thousands of images and documents, and takes nearly 40 GB on disk. That's too big to exchange via email or any online system that most users have access to, so I do my updates with family via a large-capacity USB drive.