9 replies to this topic

#1 kimam

kimam

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 December 2017 - 04:29 PM

Hi,

I am new to rootsmagic, so I apologize if this topic has been covered before.

I am attempting to set up my files and would appreciate opinions/advice on the issues involved in determining how to organize my files - whether to keep every thing in one humongous "master" database, or to split them into separate "family" databases.

In reading prior forum posts, I have seen solutions offered for issues I never even thought of, so am attempting to set this up "right" before figuring out my wonderful organization scheme makes life more complicated, rather than easier!

I have a Roots Magic "master file" that was generated by importing a gedcom file. The file came from various sources, including my early attempts with other software programs, the familysearch family tree and data files from relatives. It is a hodgepodge of well documented research, very suspect "facts" and simply undocumented data. The sources range from extreme source splitting (a single census household split into a separate source for every member in the household) to ultra source lumping (a generic "death certificate" that could refer to an actual document, a copy of the document or an index from various states). Locations, surnames, etc have no standardization. The thought of editing all these sources and records, to get them in a coherent form, only to figure out that a good many of them are irrelevant to my research is rather daunting.