I've never merged databases before, so when I went to tool->Merges->Automatic merges and clicked on Begin Merge.
I thought it would ask me for another database to merge, but it just "blinked" and came back to my main screen.
The before and after information on the merge says this:
Properties Before After
People 5717 5714
Families 2046 2045
Events 15892 15877
Any reason why I'd "lose" a number of people, families and events after an apparent "merge" with itself?
And how CAN I do a merge?
I have a database on my home computer, and went on the road with a laptop, and made changes with that copy. But the copy I went out with was from a slightly older copy of my database.
I want to get the newer stuff I added in while on the road.
What are the steps for that?
But most importantly, what did I "lose" above? And why? (I believe each individual has a unique identifier. I didn't think it would allow a duplicate person in the database.