Photo

Entering document transcription (best practices)

Transcription Sources Notes Formatting

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Witterly

Witterly

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 October 2017 - 03:09 PM

Greetings,

RM newbie here. 

I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions for "best" (or their own preferred) practice for transcribing source text in the research notes window. 

Here are some of my general questions

• Do you paste standardized templates for questions that appear in vital records/census/social security documents? If yes, do you have recommendations on where to find these?
  • How do you separate the question vs the data gathered? Some examples of what I am talking about:
    • Date of birth: May 1, 2015
    • Date of birth: May 1, 2015
    • [Date of birth] May 1, 2015
  • Do you use spaces or tabs (or something else) to separate the question vs response
  • Do you note unclear/illegible text under research notes or comments?
  • Do you write the whole question out or shorthand?
  • Do you put line breaks between each fact? This seems to add considerable length the report. 
  • Relatedly, how do you ensure you make sure the formatting of your transcript does not go bezerk when exporting to GEDCOM

I realize there is not "correct" answer to some of these questions, and many are personal preferences. I just wanted to get some ideas from the experts.

Thanks, in advance, for your insight!

Update

Having just stumbled on this thread, I now feel a bit more lost than when I wrote this message. I tried typing a transcript of an SS5 form into the "Research Notes" for a citation that had been pasted to several different facts. Well apparently thinking that the transcript would be appended to the research notes across multiple previously pasted facts was wishful thinking. Is there any way to remedy this situation? Sorry if these are basic questions. 

Edited by Witterly, 15 October 2017 - 11:16 PM.

#2 KFN

KFN

Advanced Member