• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Will60S

Will60S

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 October 2017 - 04:06 PM

I have been using Roots Magic on my Macbook Pro for a couple years now. I love this program. But now I cannot open the program any more. Every time I try to launch it, I get the following message...

Initialization Failure
          CrossOver is unable to initialize a critical component.

Failed to import cxutils module into Python. See console for errors.

The program will now exit.

I am not sure what any of this means or how to get my genealogy back.

Has anyone had this sort of thing occur?

#2 Bob C

Bob C

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts

Posted 09 October 2017 - 04:24 PM

If you just installed a new OS then you need to completely uninstall RM and reinstall.  See below

https://www.facebook...hc_location=ufi

#3 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 7360 posts

Posted 10 October 2017 - 11:33 AM

Here are the steps for the complete removal of RM and the CrossOver programming around it.

Complete uninstall of RootsMagic on the Mac
If the Crossover wrapper around the 'RootsMagic for Mac' program needs to be updated, a complete uninstall of the program is needed.

1. Make sure you have a backup of any RootsMagic data files
2. Delete any and all RootsMagic .dmg files from your computer
3. Drag and drop the RootsMagic application icon to your trash bin
4. In Finder, select Go > Go to Folder
5. Type ~/Library/Application Support
6. Drag the folder labeled "RootsMagic" to the trash bin
7. Go to ~/Library/Preferences and delete the file com.rootsmagic.rootsmagic.plist
8. Drag and drop the RootsMagic 7 shortcut icon on the Dock to your trash bin
9. Download and install the latest version of RootsMagic - http://rootsmagic.co...d/RootsMagic-7/

This will completely uninstall RootsMagic for Mac "and" the Crossover programming as well.

Renee
RootsMagic

#4 jeboyce2

jeboyce2