• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 rrh7254

rrh7254

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 August 2017 - 10:01 AM

I recently DIRECTLY imported a small TMG database into RM7 and observed that all my sources got set-up as custom source types within RM7(e.g. "_TMG)Census,Federal (filmed)").  I believe all the sources as they originally existed in TMG used the TMG standard source types (I need to verify), so I was surprised that the import couldn't map at least some of them to standard RM7 source types.  Then, still wishing to have my sources in standard RM7 format wherever possible, I went looking for a way to "edit" the source type for these existing sources (something I could do in TMG), but couldn't find any way to do it in RM7 (I'm new to RM7). 

1) Did I do something wrong in my import (or is it not possible to import TMG source types into standard RM7 source types)?

2) Is it possible in RM7 to convert a source from one source type to another without reverting to a complete manual process of deleting and then re-entering the sources from scratch?  I don't mind tweaking each source individually,  to correct a few improper field/format alignments, but was really hoping not to have do the complete re-entry of every source.

I tried finding discussions/tutorials relating to this topic, but haven't been able to find anything particularly relevant.  But I'm a recent convert to RM7 and am still trying to come up the learning curve, so I apologize if I missed where this topic has been covered before.  If that's the case, kindly just give me a pointer.

--thanks,

--Randy

-- regards,

-- Randy

#2 Jim Byram

Jim Byram

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 06 August 2017 - 02:36 AM

TMG has a very elegant mechanism that allows you to change the source type of any source quickly and simply. RootsMagic has no comparable mechanism.