• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 spacecat56

spacecat56

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 25 July 2017 - 12:46 PM

The way RM7 now handles Ancestry hints is pretty effective.  The dialog for a hint shows the details in your file on one side, the details from the record suggested in the "hint" on the other side, and lets you pick details from the hint to merge in, it downloads the media if you accept some of the facts, etc.

The thing is, hints are hardly the be-all-end-all of content finds on Ancestry.  In fact, I've been using FTM and Ancestry for several years and I ignore the hints and do searches more often than not.  The main thing is that the "hints" tend to be sparse... they miss LOTS of applicable data on Ancestry.  Why? At least some of that is because of mangles in the indexing... you may know a census record is there and be able to get a "hit" in search if you play with the spelling of the name.  Anyway that's just one example.  The great majority of content I've accepted from Ancestry came from searches not from hints.

Now I'm seriously looking at RM7 because it has some features I like (another topic).

But the way websearch results from Ancestry are handled in the current version is a deal-breaker.  I can see why a web tag makes sense for a hit on google.  But from Ancestry you can get a fact breakout and source citation data to fit into the structured database, not just some "link".

A selected Websearch result from Ancestry should be handled by RM7 in the same exact way as Ancestry hints are... I mean, using the same dialog.  

As long as RM7 does not do that, I see no point at all to the websearch Ancestry target in RM7: you are just making a mess.  Please tell me you intend to improve this "pretty soon"?

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5897 posts

Posted 25 July 2017 - 01:54 PM

That's a very good observation. Does FTM search Ancestry and incorporate results as you describe?