4 replies to this topic

#1 mcphilbrick

mcphilbrick

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 07:20 AM

In the UPDATE HISTORY post for version 7.5.1 it states that the issue of duplicating sources has been resolved:

FIXED: Transferring a source already on Ancestry doesn't duplicate it anymore

SO -- has anyone thought about the best procedure to deal with all of those duplicate sources?

As I see it I have 3 options:

• Ignore the duplicates
  • Work thru my tree one at a time removing the duplicates and using treeshare to update the facts (medium to large tree)
  • unlinking my tree and uploading a new tree

#2 sueanderson

sueanderson

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 11:04 AM

I am 

trying to find out the same answer

#3 MacRooter

MacRooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 16 July 2017 - 02:40 AM

I am relatively new to Roots Magic so am still exploring its features.  The other day, I did notice that there are options within RM to "merge" and "auto merge" sources (Lists > Source List > Automerge or Merge).  I wonder if that might be the answer to your problem.

Might be an idea to first set up a test tree with a couple of duplicate sources to see if a merge solves the problem for you.  If you decide to try this out on your main tree, don't forget to do a backup first - just in case.

#4 mcphilbrick

mcphilbrick

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 16 July 2017 - 08:39 AM

Since I had another issue I wanted to clean up, I

• cleaned up some of my sources
  • disconnected my tree
  • disconnected my DNA kits from the tree
  • uploaded my RM data to a NEW tree -- different name
  • deleted my old tree
  • connected my DNA kits to my new tree
  • connected the We're Related app to my new tree
  • started working thru the hints on my pedigree (to make them disappear since I already have the data in my tree)