• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 WaylonCovil

WaylonCovil

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 January 2017 - 02:03 PM

I'm just getting started with RootsMagic and I have a question about scanned files.

I'm starting to scan photos, letters and other documents and want to attach them to specific people in RootsMagic.

I've only done this a couple of times so far and it appears that when I attach a file, I need to specify to RootsMagic the location of the file and it looks like RootsMagic just creates a pointer in it's database to the file.

I was thinking that attaching a file would put it into the RootsMagic database but this doesn't appear to be the case.

So...

If RootsMagic is just pointing to a location on my HardDrive, this indicates to me that I need to have a decent system of scanning and filing and naming of my scanned files.

Would you agree?

My main concern about essentially just putting links to places on my harddrive is what happens when I need to move stuff to a different computer? Will all those links break?

I'm looking for best practices here.

I noticed that RootsMagic also has something called Media Gallery which I haven't tried yet.

Would I be better off using Media Gallery?

I'm thinking that some of these scans I'll want to update as sources to FamilySearch/Ancestry using the RootsMagic integration.

Thanks for your help.

#2 bgellisshapiro

bgellisshapiro

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 21 January 2017 - 05:27 PM

Hi!  I have many years of experience working with databases, and can assure you that having media linked is much better than having it attached.  The database itself if basically a text file, and is a relatively small file.  If you attach a media file to it it becomes very large.  If you attach 20 or 30 media files it becomes unwieldy.  Having it merely link to images on your hard drive adds just a tiny bit more text to the database.