3 replies to this topic

#1 zhangrau

zhangrau

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1145 posts

Posted 02 December 2016 - 04:10 PM

In my Master Source List, I'm in the middle of a project to make the list sort by categories.

Here's some of my concerns:

1 - Since the list cannot be sorted (on characteristics such as Author, Publisher, Publish Date, etc.) a long list becomes progressively difficult to manage and review

2 - Since RM does not allow sources to be organized into "folders" (or whatever you'd like to call the groupings), a large Master Source List can be difficult to manage

3 - Many sources have very long names, and need to be abbreviated or truncated in order to fit the available width of the available column

4 - My main database currently contains over 13,400 sources - reviewing and managing this list is awkward - finding duplicates where the display titles were abbreviated differently (I've been building my database since 1988 and in multiple programs and versions) is difficult

5 - Categorizing the sources provides a method for filtering my search - for example, all sources from published telephone records receive the prefix of [tel], causing them to sort adjacently in the Master Source List

6 - These prefixes are prepended to the display title, and do not appear in the indices of citations nor bibliography

These are organizing prefixes for my Master Source List display titles
[cem] = cemetery index or transcription
[dir] = city and county directories
[news] = newspaper article
[obit] = obituary or death notice or In Memoriam
    -- O = usually includes life details and multiple generations
    -- DN = usually person only with few details
    -- IM = usually published on an anniversary of the subject's death
[pk] = personal knowledge of contributor
[tel] = telephone directories
[tree] = family tree imported (usually as a GEDCOM)

This list will gradually expand, as I decide to build additional categories