4 replies to this topic

#1 Mackay

Mackay

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 22 June 2016 - 08:36 PM

I'm using RootsMagic 4 on an old Macbook Pro, with Parallels and Windows 7. I have been having trouble getting into my RM database. What I want to do is buy a new Macbook (the current one has had several $1000-repairs),  update my RM version 4 to something much newer and begin using RM for Mac, instead of the work-around with Windows 7 and Parallels.

My questions are:

1) What are the right steps to take? What do I do first, second, third, etc?

2) The last time I tried changing from a Dell computer with my RM4 to the Mac, it took me about six months, and I was able to do it only with help from this group. So I appreciate all the help I got then, and hope someone can walk me through the steps I need now. Can someone walk me through this? I'm no techie. I have 30 years worth of genealogical research in my RM database.

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6254 posts

Posted 23 June 2016 - 05:14 AM

I'm no Mac user but I would suggest you have the Apple Geniuses at your store transfer your data (and whatever programs that can be) to your new computer. Then download and install RootsMagic 7 to the new one. Set up the default folders through RM's Tools > Program Options (you may have to create folders through the Mac OS). If your RM data files and media are not in the desired folders, move them there. Then proceed to open your database with RM.

Because there is a structural change in the database between RM4 and RM7, it will automatically change your database file to the new structure.

Your media may no longer be linked (red X's on the thumbnails) so use the tool "Fix broken media links" and point it to the folder where you placed the media files so it does not have to search your entire drive.

Tom user of RM7550 FTM2017 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com