• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Dmstauber

Dmstauber

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 February 2016 - 10:16 PM

I am a total beginner!! I landed in genealogy just as the big change happened with Ancestry, and I'm trying to figure out which software I want to use.

I am choosing between Rootsmagic and Family Tree Maker because (at least according to a review site with a comprehensive feature chart) they are the two that allow for both same-sex marriages and adoptions.

Right now I am putting data into the free version of Rootsmagic. I have also looked at my friend's Family Tree Maker and found that I liked the view there better (more data accessible rather than hidden) though I know everyone is complaining about the new timeline view. There is no demo available of FTM right now, so I'm waiting impatiently for my final decision.

So I would love to hear how you chose Rootsmagic and what you see as its advantages over FTM. 

Thank you in advance!

#2 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 8375 posts

Posted 23 February 2016 - 10:17 AM

This has been discussed on our RootsMagic Users Facebook Page. You could search on the topic there to see all the comments.

https://www.facebook...ootsMagicUsers/

Renee
RootsMagic

#3 Don Newcomb

Don Newcomb

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1042 posts

Posted 23 February 2016 - 11:05 AM

The major advantage to Roots Magic is that it will still be supported past Jan '17.

http://blogs.ancestr...maker-software/

"...we’ve taken a hard look at the declining desktop software market and the impact this has on being able to continue to provide product enhancements and support that our users need. With that, we’ve made the decision to stop selling Family Tree Maker as of December 31, 2015. "

#4 Dmstauber

Dmstauber

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 23 February 2016 - 11:47 AM

Ah, you didn't see the announcement: