• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 cajungenes

cajungenes

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 12:36 AM

First, let me say I have tried to figure this out by myself.  I have googled, searched and read posts.  No success and much frustration. 

I am on a Macbook Air, version early 2015, RootsMagic version 7.0.11.0. 

I have been using TMG for several years and switched in January to RootsMagic.  The learning curve is steep, but I'm figuring most things out.

What I can't figure out is how to either "merge" duplicates into one person, or delete the "extra" person.  I downloaded my tree on Ancestry in gedcom form and imported it into RootsMagic.  This increased my normal person count by over 3000.  So I have 3000+ duplicates.

I ran all the data base utilities, I ran the automatic merge.  No help.  I discovered I can manually merge and delete individually, but with over 3000 I'm hoping there is a better way.

Thanks,

#2 zhangrau

zhangrau

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1522 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 07:11 AM

I'm a Windows user, but I think the procedure I'd use would be the same on a Mac.

Go to Tools - Merge - Duplicate Search Merge

You'll be presented with a screen of comparison parameters - I use the defaults, which allow a couple years between dates - click [Search for duplicates]..

Since your merges are likely to include multiple person along branches of a tree, I take a screen capture of the search results (and close the search results window), paste it into Paint, and set that on the left side of my screen. I have RM on the right, and with a widescreen laptop, I can have both displayed side-by-side while working.

I like to begin my merging work work in Family View. Select a starting person, and merge with the duplicate.

Inspect for duplicate parents, and merge (if necessary). Work upwards until there are no more parents to be merged.