• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Leander

Leander

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 25 January 2016 - 02:25 AM

Hi all.  I am new to RM, using on windows 8.1 desktop, large screen. 

At times, I will be looking at a common RM screen, say a pedigree view, and neither my mouse nor my keyboard will interact with anything on the screen, including the upper right corner "red X box" for closing the program.

Invariably, this is caused by another screen being open and awaiting a response from me.  The problem is that this waiting screen is not visible to me, so I can't act.

I can get out of this problem by going down to the taskbar at the bottom of my windows desktop, right-clicking on the RootsMagic icon, and selecting "close window".  Rather than close the program completely, this action brings up the previously hidden screen.  I can act on this screen, then proceed with my work without closing RM completely.

My question:  although I have found a workaround, am I using the program incorrectly, both to get in this jam in the first place, and in not having a more elegant way to get out of it?

Thanks for any ideas or tips,

Leander

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6415 posts

Posted 25 January 2016 - 06:38 AM

I have experienced the same thing and consider it a bug. I have no better suggestion for tickling the hidden window into view.

Tom user of RM7630 FTM2017 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com
SQLite_Tools_For_Roots_Magic_in_PR_Celti wiki, exploiting the database in special ways >>> RMtrix-tiny.png app, a bundle of RootsMagic utilities.

#3 Jerry Bryan

Jerry Bryan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3823 posts

Posted 25 January 2016 - 08:18 AM

This also happens to me. It certainly feels like a bug. However, I wonder if maybe it is a Windows bug rather than an RM bug, and that maybe there isn't anything that RM can do about it. I don't know for sure.