13 replies to this topic

#1 Marsha Alexander

Marsha Alexander

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 07 January 2016 - 09:16 AM

I am new to Roots Magic – coming over from FTM. Several problems/questions:

1. I am entering everything manually rather than to do the file transfer method. I keep the genealogies for each of my family names in separate files – 10 of them. But many of the place names are common for all of the files. So in Roots Magic, when I enter a place name, it only shows up for the current file I am working with. When I start on a new file, the place list is blank - so I have to re-enter all the place names – for every file? Isn’t there some “Master Place List” someplace?
  2. Regarding the Gazetteer – I have many German towns to enter. I like to have the Town, District, State, and County recorded. But for German towns, the District is missing. For example: This is what I want – Elmshorn, Pinneberg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany. The Gazetter does not show Pinneberg. Is there some way I can edit the Gazetter and enter all the missing Districts manually? I can’t find any edit function for the Gazetteer.
  3. In FTM, the United States is always abbreviated USA. In Roots Magic it is spelled out. Which is preferable to genealogists?
  4. It seems to me that FTM handles place listings more efficiently. No?

Any advice is appreciated. Sorry if this are kind of stupid questions.

#2 Vyger

Vyger

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3356 posts

Posted 07 January 2016 - 09:41 AM

I would advise against separate files for the very reason that one character will create a unique place or other entity.