• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Bill_in_PA

Bill_in_PA

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 November 2015 - 04:14 PM

RootsMagic, like many family tree programs, seems to rely on a flawed model of place name structures for the US: municipality, county, state, coutry. I'm new to RootsMagic, but not new to genealogy software.

RM does have the flexibility to add to the hierarchy, such as village, township, county, state, country.

But what I'm struggling with is the assumption that every municipality is in one, and only one, county.

As most of you know, in states such as New York, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, etc., it's very common for a county line to bisect a municipality. Edgerton, WI is party in Dane Co., and partly in  Rock Co. Bethlehem, PA is partly in Northampton Co. and partly in Lehigh Co. New York City is divided into 5 counties.

Obits etc. usually don't mention county, just municipality and if the state isn't mentined explicitly, usually it can be deduced.

So what do you enter?

a) Just use a placeholder -- "Edgerton,, Wisconsin, United States"?

B) Enter both -- "Edgerton, Dane/Rock, Wisconsin, United States"?

c) Arbitrarily pick the one that seems to have the larger percentage of the area -- "Bethlehem, Northampton, Pennylvania, United States"? or

d) Am I missing something obvious?

And what do you do with states such as Virginia, that have independent municipalities such as Chesapeake, Manassas, etc. that are not poltical subdivisions of any county? Use a comma as placeholder? Enter "none" or "independent"?

How do RootsMagic "old hands" handle this?

Thanks for sharing your perspectives. Lots of you must have encountered the problem.

#2 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 8296 posts

Posted 11 November 2015 - 05:25 PM

I've used option A on your list until I know for sure which county it is in.

Renee
RootsMagic

#3 Laura

Laura

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4276 posts