#1 JACRISTA

JACRISTA

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 October 2015 - 09:10 AM

Hi there, hoping someone can help me.

I have 'Rootsmagic 5', I'm just busy changing my paper filing system from folders to hanging files using a colour system I found on the internet. (I do like to keep physical files as well as on the database)

I can print a 5 generation colour coded chart no problem, so I have 4 different colours, but the next thing it wants me to do is to print pedigree charts for each separate family name, so if my name were for example, 'Smith' and I am colour coded red on the database, then all those ancestors that would be in red, and so on in the other colours.

I haven't got a clue how to do this, or if indeed it can be done in Roots magic, but I would be most grateful if someone could help me out, I'm no expert with 'Rootsmagic' so if there is a way it can be done, can you give me 'idiots instructions'. this old head of mine couldn't cope with too much technical stuff LOL

Here's hoping, many thanks,

Jacrista

#2 Laura

Laura

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4276 posts

Posted 03 October 2015 - 10:07 AM

Highlight yourself on a main view.

Type Ctrl+c or go to Tools, Color Code people.

Choose the color from the drop down menu.

Click on Ancestors of highlighted person.

Click OK.

There are 14 colors to choose from + Black.

There is a YouTube, RootsMagicTV video, Color Coding People in RootsMagic.

#3 JACRISTA

JACRISTA

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 October 2015 - 11:45 AM

Thank you for your reply Laura, I can understand what you are telling me to do, but will this allow me to print out a 'Pedigree Chart' for just one family line in that family's colour?

Jacrista

#4 Laura

Laura

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4276 posts

Posted 03 October 2015 - 03:13 PM