8 replies to this topic

#1 gmartell

gmartell

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 March 2015 - 09:34 PM

This may a bit long...

I'm new to RootsMagic and a TMG refugee.  I've been away from my family genealogy since about 1990 and recently got back into it after my father passed away this past fall.  I got back into it just after wholly genes stopped selling TMG, so I was stuck with v6.  This was installed on an old laptop that died so i had no way to run TMG to clean up my database to move to another program.

Luckily, I was able to pull my old data files from the hard drive and was able to import it into RM.  Version 6 was the first version that used a database structure that could be imported into RM. (Got lucky!!)  So with an early TMG version inconsistencies and how I entered/cited data back in the past has me on the journey of cleaning up my database.

In the process, I seem to have some phantom citations.  I printed the sources to find where a specific citation as used and replaced it with my new one.  I found them all except four that were tied to a ChildParent tag without any other data.  So it wasn't obvious who they were tied to.  The four show up when I search everywhere, but that only allows you to edit the citation.  I tried using the explorer with various serach permutations but that didn't find anything.

So what are my next steps?  I tried all the database tools - but the seemingly unconnected citations still show up. If they were truly phantoms wouldn't the database tools remove them>

thanks

#2 Jerry Bryan

Jerry Bryan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3978 posts

Posted 19 March 2015 - 05:53 AM

I found them all except four that were tied to a ChildParent tag without any other data.