9 replies to this topic

#1 craigg

craigg

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 14 November 2014 - 11:14 AM

I have been unable to find by searching any pertinent discussion about this topic, although I know that there have been similar topics.
I have a few master sources that are in freeform. I use these extensively, thousands of citations, in my database to source common user defined facts. I continue to add new citations, but I would like to convert these sources to a template form, but do not see how I can do that if I need to do it one citation at a time.
My question is, has anyone a fairly simple way to do the conversion on the master source, and without doing anything with each citation.

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6283 posts

Posted 14 November 2014 - 12:30 PM

There is no simple way, even with SQLite, to convert a source from Free Form to a template-type unless the template is essentially an equivalent to Free Form, as is my custom hybrid template, !MyFreeForm3. For some insight into the problem of conversion, see this discussion started by Jerry Bryan: Question with respect to Changing a Master Source to a Different Source Template. Be sure to read the comments and check out the links at the bottom if you are undaunted.

Tom user of RM7550 FTM2017 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com
SQLite_Tools_For_Roots_Magic_in_PR_Celti wiki, exploiting the database in special ways >>> RMtrix-tiny.png app, a bundle of RootsMagic utilities.

#3 zhangrau

zhangrau

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1531 posts

Posted 15 November 2014 - 01:50 AM