7 replies to this topic

#1 RDOwens

RDOwens

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 November 2014 - 09:46 PM

Newbie here.

I am trying to get a handle on sources, proof, etc. 

I added myself.  I added my engagement to my wife.  I then added a note about the evening explaining the details of the proposal.

What would I record as the source?  What wording would I use?

How do I address the proof?  

I assume this is considered primary, yes?

#2 Laura

Laura

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4276 posts

Posted 13 November 2014 - 11:11 PM

I would use Personal knowledge for the Master source template if I used Source templates.  Since I use Free form for Master sources, I would use the Personal knowledge template as a guide.

Enter your name in the Master source template and your address if desired.

Enter the name of the Master source in a way you can find it again, possibly Surname, Given name.  My source name for myself is Researcher, Surname, Given name.  This sorts my source with other researchers' names that I have as Master sources.

Link the Master source to the fact on the Edit person screen.  Enter the details for the source details.  Perhaps, Engagement of Name and Name on Date and Place.   Enter the story in the Detail text, Research note.

Quality = Original, Primary, Direct

It would be primary because you have first hand knowledge of the event.

#3 RDOwens

RDOwens

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 November 2014 - 11:25 AM

Thank you.  This was helpful.  

I am finding that I do not have a firm handle on how to put in sources.  Playing around with my birth registration certificate, I don't seem to be able to attach the scan of the document to the source.  How do I get a checkmark on the edit person screen for the birth event?

#4 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6444 posts

Posted 14 November 2014 - 11:41 AM