• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 RassilonRegenerated

RassilonRegenerated

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 12:19 PM

Greetings. I am new to roots magic and so far I love it but I am having a bit of frustration dealing with syncronization with my Ancestry.com tree. Basically Ancestry exports a GEDCOM and then I import it to RM6 and that is suppossed to be simple.  But the reality is there are two problems and I wanted to air them here as many may be having the same issues but may not even realize they are occurring:

1. It is silently dropping data from the import and loosing valuable info. Some of the blame for this is clearly on the part of Ancestry.com for having invalid GEDCOM files but part really has to be laid on RM6 for not raising alerts. I have just finished a difficult merger of two systems and cleaned everything up an now face having to redo it again as there was lots of important data that was dropped without warning.

2. I does not import and preserve the _APID tag from Ancestry.com. This is a custom tag from ancestry that they use to identify what sources are attached to a person. This is vitally important if you dont want to get a ton of "hints" that you have already reviewed and end up attaching duplicate sources to your people.

So explaining this I am going to go into some of the details of GEDCOM. Basically GEDCOM is a text file with one item of data per line. Adding a line break kind of srews things up, and that is all the fault of Ancestry for adding extra line breaks, but really I would have expected RM6 to at a minimum return an error saying "There were errors on import, check the log file!" As it is I had to find out about the log file from web searches. It is located in the same directory your new RM database is located with the name of yourgedcomfile.LST. Any time you import a GEDCOM look through this file to see what data you are loosing because RM is not going to warn you!