• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 zeegal

zeegal

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 03:49 PM

I am a newbie. Until today, I have focused just on entering names, dates, etc. As part of the massive data I have "inherited", there are several old typewritten letters and narratives that I have scanned and converted to Word documents through MS Office's Document Imaging software. Today I looked for a means to have these Word documents print through the scrapbook. In looking for a solution on the Forum I think I saw a comment that suggested that only images can be printed from RM. If so, what would be the purpose of linking media into RM that can't be printed and, does anyone have a suggestion as to an easy way to combine this type information with that available from RM. I was hoping to tie everything together for each person and print. Thank you.

#2 John_of_Ross_County

John_of_Ross_County

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 699 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 04:21 PM

Several years ago I created a new fact type called "Letter."

Role: Principal
Sentence template: [Person] wrote a letter [Date] [PlaceDetails] [Place] to [Desc].
I enabled the following:

1] Date field [When was the letter written]
2] Place field [Where was the letter written]
3] Description field [Name of the person written to]

I did a copy&paste of transcribed Word documents into the [Note] field.

It seems to work well. If you have many letters and want to save paper on a specific report, just go to Lists>Fact Types>Letter and change the [Yes/No] setting for the specific type of report. Or change the option in report printing to not print notes. But that covers all notes, not just letters.

#3 Laura

Laura

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4276 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 06:28 PM