• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 DeaneHunter

DeaneHunter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 02:42 PM

I'm a newbie at all things genealogy... so forgive me if I may ask crazy questions :)

I'm kind of getting frustrated from finding a lot of data only to later find it is not correct.

Is there a way, on any of the search sites, to find only certified accurate data??
If so, I would like to start my searching there, and then go on and try to expand on that.

Right now, I'm feeling like... 2 steps forward, 3 steps back. Getting more confused and frustrated.

BUT, I am having fun...it's interesting finding out all this stuff!

I have been searching various sites off and on for a while. I just finally decided to buy a Ancestry membership.
Since I have family from England, France and Canada, I got a 6-month WORLD membership. ($99 for new members)

I also am easily led astray following all these crumbs..LOL
So, if anyone has any suggestions about how best to remain focused...etc. please let me know.

thanks,
Cliff

#2 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 4152 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 03:59 PM

It's really important to look for original documents and work from them instead of going off anyone's compiled trees on websites. The compiled trees will just have one user submitting the information, or in the case of FamilySearch Family Tree, many different submitters. Compiled trees are just a person's conclusions about their research. Compiled trees on websites are the same quality as genealogy books which are compiled records by the author. Compiled records are usually not sourced and are only as good as the person's genealogy research skills are that put it together.

In Ancestry make sure to stay away from the trees and actually work from the historical records. The tree make a good starting point for where to look for the actually documents regarding those individuals.