• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rbitrbit

rbitrbit

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 10:55 AM

I am new to RootsMagic and just synced the application to my iPad. I was not paying close attention to what I was doing and added the RootsMagic application file to the iPad, instead of the family file (which i subsequently added correctly). I would now like to remove the application that I added as a file, in error. How might I do that?

#2 J P

J P

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 04:10 PM

I am new to RootsMagic and just synced the application to my iPad. I was not paying close attention to what I was doing and added the RootsMagic application file to the iPad, instead of the family file (which i subsequently added correctly). I would now like to remove the application that I added as a file, in error. How might I do that?

How did you transfer the file to the iPad? Via Dropbox? Via iTunes?

#3 rbitrbit

rbitrbit

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2014 - 05:02 PM

I transfered it via iTunes.

#4 J P

J P

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 10:05 AM

I transfered it via iTunes.

OK, connect to the iPad within iTunes and select the Apps tab. Below the list of Apps is a File Sharing section and RootsMagic should be one of the Apps under this heading. Select RootsMagic and you should be able to view the files you have transferred to the iPad for RootsMagic to use. If the invalid file is shown, select it and then delete it using the delete key - the use of the delete key didn't strike me as obvious when I first tried to delete an RM file.

If the file isn't shown, then I don't know how to get rid of it other than with a factory reset of the iPad (or something similarly nasty). Maybe you just have to suffer the loss of space.

Hope this helps.

#5 GalinAZ

GalinAZ

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts