19 replies to this topic

#1 Canuk

Canuk

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 11 March 2013 - 05:38 PM

Please understand that I'm not technical, so I need easy to follow step by step instructions. You folks are usually really good with that, so I am asking for help yet again.

I have RM6 and I followed your clear instructions to the letter for putting the RM app on my iPod Touch via Dropbox. Success. Now I would like the app to sync with all my RM databases when I back up. (I have 5. One larger and all the rest small.) Please tell me if the following will work.

If I go into RM6 Program Options and change the Back Up path to Me>My Documents>My Dropbox>Apps>RootsMagic, will that do the trick? Or should I click once more and make the Back Up path Me>My Documents>My Dropbox>Apps>RootsMagic>.dropbox? Or will none of this work?

If I did this would it also sync every time I plug in my iPod to charge also? That would be ideal. (For everything else it syncs via iTunes).

Thanks for your help. Sorry if these questions seem dumb and elementary, but history was my area.
Canuk
Searching in Kent, England

#2 TomH

TomH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3428 posts

Posted 11 March 2013 - 05:46 PM

Backups (the .rmgb files) do not work on the iOS app. Only the uncompressed RootsMagic file (ending with the .rmgc extension) works. There is no safe, automatic shortcut to keeping the file on the iOS device synchronised with your working file. It is inadvisable to have your working file in the DropBox folder as there is potential for conflict between DropBox and RootsMagic and it keeps your computer unnecessarily busy. Your working file should be kept in a folder that makes sense for your normal usage. When you want to update the iOS device, copy the working file to your DropBox folder.
Tom user of RM6310 FTM2014 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com