Jump to content


Photo

Use of Dropbox

dropbox

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 drewdowns7

drewdowns7

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:06 PM

My sister and I are collaborating on the same database using Dropbox. Dropbox instructions say that when you save the file, the collaborators will be notified of the change. Roots Magic has no save button - I presume that data is saved to the file as you enter it or when you close out of the Roots Magic file. How does it work?

#2 TomH

TomH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3573 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 07:27 AM

Changes are written to the file as they are made, even a change of view results in a change to the file. Hence it is advisable to not work on a database file in a DropBox folder as it will constantly chase the changes. Moreover, if you are collaborating, you must work out an arrangement so that only one person is working on the file at a time and never without having first synced with the other.

Tom user of RM6314 FTM2014 Ancestry.ca FamilySearch.org FindMyPast.com
SQLite_Tools_For_Roots_Magic_in_PR_Celtiwiki, exploiting the database in special ways >>> RMtrix_tiny.png app, a growing bundle of RootsMagic utilities.