PeggyF

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 24 December 2012 - 09:57 AM

I wish. . . .

JewishGen has two databases of communities:

1) The JewishGen Communities database with a listing of over 6,000 communites with known Jewish communities

2) The JewishGen Gazetteer based on the US Board on Geographic Names databases for 54 countries in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

You can see more about these resources at http://www.jewishgen.org/databases/

I wish that there were a way to connect the databases so that in RootsMagic I could use the County Check procedures with these established JewishGen European databases.

I am a member of JewishGen (a non profit), and a user of RootsMagic, but not an officer of either organization. I am also not a professional programmer. However, if there were some sort of freely available parameters, I would be willing to look for volunteers to help with this project.

Peggy Mosinger Freedman

PS If it is reasonable to begin this project within a year, it would be wonderful to have RootsMagic present at the International Association of Jewish Genealogy Societies Conference in Bosotn on August 4-9, 2013. Calls for papers are due January 6.
http://www.iajgs2013.org/
Peggy Mosinger Freedman

#2 Renee Zamora

Renee Zamora

Advanced Member

• Support
  • PipPipPip
  • 8369 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 02:19 PM

I don't think I am following very well what you are looking for. How do you want CountyCheck to interact with these databases?
Renee
RootsMagic

#3 PeggyF

PeggyF

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 04:12 PM

The map in Eastern Europe has changed quite a bit over the years - I will use an easy example:
If you search for the city of Vilnius and choose the Exact Spelling search in the JewishGen Communities database http://www.jewishgen...ties/Search.asp, you will get an entry that shows that
Vilnius is now in Lithuania,