• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 jimwest

jimwest

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 08:12 AM

I'm new to Roots Magic. Wondering if there is a preferred method to identify attached photos.

Should just the name be used - last name first, or the number assigned by RM ? Just getting ready to begin and have hundreds of photos, so would like to do it right the first time.

I understand RM will probably work with either, but is there a best way for me ?

#2 R Steven

R Steven

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 09:27 AM

For photos of people I just label them with the name and the birth year. I don't assign the RM number to them since RM keeps track of the connections for me once I link the photo to the person. When the image is a document like a census, I add a little more information to the title.

In the description of the photos I include additional information: source of photo, location, year taken, and anything else I know about it.

#3 Vyger

Vyger

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3404 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 11:32 AM

I would just say bear in mind that RM currently uses the file name as one of it's sort options. Also having thousands of images I did run into trouble years ago with endless duplication and difficulty finding files, myself and two other researchers agreed on a file naming convention.

doe-john,1901-jan-12-(b) simple birth copy
doe-john,1901-jan-12-(d) same but death copy
doe-john,smith-maggie,1901-mar-31-dunnyvannen-ballymena-antrim-(cens) think you should have the idea now.

Just agree a format that suits you and stick to it, if all else fails and the image is not linked to RM I can easily find it in Windows.

We are all limited by our visions and abilities

Whilst we can borrow from the visions of others we cannot always deliver.

User of Family Historian 6.2.7, Rootsmagic 7.6.0, Family Tree Maker 2014 & Legacy 7.5